Loading... Please wait...

Popular Brands

Our Newsletter


Reel Kit Reviews

Read some of the reviews

(These are unsolicited and unedited reviews from customers all around the world.)


Great Value // Classic reel // icorating4.gif

Posted by Kit Bruttig on 13th Oct 2014

Trout fishers don't need a $ 500.00 reel. Fly reels for trout fishing really only need to hold the line. Most trout are caught by just pulling in the line by hand. This reel fits the bill and its classic design works well for bamboo! Less is more in this case!

I only wish the reel came with the spindle already cut to size and the extra parts included an extra clicker and spindle. Only time will tell if it stands up in the field. Otherwise I am very pleased. 


fun and easy icorating5.gif

Posted by vincent trzeciak on 6th Apr 2014

This kit has all the hardware in bags that are numbered and the instructions are very simple. I went with the extra materials and the reel bag because you will need grades of sandpaper. I put this on my 3 w t . Enjoyed the build.


Very nice reel icorating5.gif

Posted by Jim Pushchak on 27th Mar 2014

This is a very nice product just what I was looking for to compliment my bamboo rods.
Thanks Jim Pushchak
JP Fly Fishing Specialties 
Resolute Rods


Classic reel icorating5.gif

Posted by Jim Pushchak on 27th Mar 2014

This is also a very nice product a nice compliment to my bamboo rods. And made in america
Thank You Jim Pushchak
JP Fly Fishing Specialties
Resolute Rods


i have just opened the box, it looks ok and instructions are clear will write more once ive built it keep up the great work icorating5.gif

Posted by David Anderson on 5th Feb 2014


My First Reel icorating5.gif

Posted by Paul on 13th Feb 2013

This is the first reel I'm building, the kit is of a great quality, and the instructions are easy to follow and are well written. I will recommend this reel kit to anyone that wants the satisfaction of building and fishing their own rod and reel. Thank you Eclectic Angler for providing a great quality reel kit for rod builders to finish customizing there rod.


How good is this icorating5.gif

Posted by Pat on 2nd Mar 2013

The kit turned up and I was impressed with it from the start. Everything was there and packaged and labelled very clearly. The instructions are clear, concise and very easy to follow. Just brilliant, I know this will be the first of many.


An excellent kit. icorating5.gif

Posted by Unknown on 1st Mar 2013

A good reel and an excellent first reel. Building this reel will give you the confidence to start making your own. The materials and possibilities are many.


Ultralight find icorating5.gif

Posted by Chuck Mound on 30th Oct 2012

I have been looking for ultralight reels for some time now. It is hard to find a blue-collar, everyman reel in today's market. This kit addresses every thing:quality,price,service,and the opportunity to make it myself.....this is the FIND.


Sweeeeet! icorating5.gif

Posted by Dave R. on 25th Oct 2012

What a lovely reel. 


Fantastic little reel! icorating5.gif

Posted by BH - Colorado on 25th Oct 2012

Thanks for creating this great kit! It is beautiful on my bamboo rod and handled the 14" rainbow I just caught on it with ease!


First Time Builder icorating5.gif

Posted by Bill H. on 11th Jan 2011

Michael,

You did a really great job of putting a kit together that was easy to build and came with very detailed and easy to follow instructions. 

Thanks.

Bill


Reel punishment icorating5.gif

Posted by Bob C. on 17th Nov 2010

Hi Michael,

Just a note to let you know that I used my Rod Gathering reel with the click check for fishing on the Blue River, Silverthorne, CO for two days last week. It performed flawlessly on over 20 rainbows up to 6 pounds. Some were screaming runners; others were leapers. I was really pleased. My friends from Denver loved the brass reel.

Best,

Bob